September 24
Queer Lisboa 26 Award Winners

The Closing Ceremony of Queer Lisboa 26 - International Queer Film Festival took place this evening at 9pm at Sala Manoel de Oliveira, Cinema São Jorge, where the awards for the Competitions (Feature Film, Documentary, Queer Art, Short Film and In My Shorts - which distinguishes the Best European School Short Film) were announced. 


Following two editions, in 2020 and 2021, under strict sanitary restrictions which only allowed 50% of theater seating, the Queer Lisboa 26 audience was able once again to experience a full theatre, with various sold out screenings, namely the opening night with circa 900 people in the audience. The present edition also allowed us to host over 40 international industry guests from countries such as Chile, USA, Brazil, Argentina, Spain, Netherlands, UK, France, Switzerland, alongside many Portuguese guests.   

It was possible once again to live a strong sense of communal sharing around queer cinema at Cinema São Jorge and Cinemateca Portuguesa. A total sum of over 6.500 spectators attended the film screenings at both venues, which means an increase of 30% in comparison to last year’s edition, besides the many people who attended the festival parties, which once again took place this year, after a two year break.    

After the closing of yet another edition of Queer Lisboa, we have already confirmed the dates of Queer Lisboa 27 that will take place from the 22nd to the 30th September 2023, at Cinema São Jorge and Cinemateca Portuguesa. In the meantime, the 8th edition of Queer Porto takes place from the 29th November to the 4thDecember at Teatro Rivoli, Reitoria da Universidade do Porto, Teatro Helena Sá e Costa, and Maus Hábitos.




Jury: Cláudia Lucas Chéu (Writer, Playwright), Nuno Nolasco (Actor) and Rita Azevedo Gomes (Filmmaker)

Best Film: "Wet Sand", Elene Naveriani (Switzerland, Georgia, 2021, 115’)
“For the sobriety with which it develops the filmic narrative and approaches social discrimination issues, for the actors’ direction and performance, for the brilliance with which its musical themes interact with cinematic time, and gain a presence of their own, Wet Sand is of unequivocal beauty.” 


Special Mention: "Joyland", Saim Sadiq (Pakistan, 2022, 126’)
Joyland elicits both a sharp and delirious gaze upon women’s status within the Pakistani community.”  


Audience Award: "Joyland", Saim Sadiq (Pakistan, 2022, 126’)


Jury: Joana Frazão (Filmmaker, Translator), Nathalie Mansoux (Filmmaker) and Rui Madruga (Producer)


Best Film: "Nuestros Cuerpos Son Sus Campos de Batalla " , Isabelle Solas (Argentina, France, 2022, 101’)
“For its heartfelt and just record of the daily struggle of two transgender women who dedicate themselves to direct action, to sharing their experiences and knowledge, and who defend the convergence of fights against all forms of domination and discrimination.” 


Audience Award: "Corpolítica", Pedro Henrique França (Brazil, 2022, 103’)


Jury: Jesse James (Cultural Programmer), Luciana Fina (Filmmaker) and Vasco Araújo (Artist)


Best Film: "Neptune Frost", Anisia Uzeyman, Saul Williams (USA, Ruanda, 2021, 105’)
“We award Neptune Frost for its extraordinary art direction, for its critical gaze upon contemporary reality, and for the way it catapults us towards a space of freedom and hope, deep inside queer concepts.”


Special Mention: "Ultraviolette et le gang des cracheuses de sang", Robin Hunzinger (France, Switzerland, 2021, 74’)
“We award Ultraviolette et le gang des cracheuses de sang with a Special Mention for both its excellent direction and archival image work, which challenge us to rethink our relation with history/memory, with art, and with social/political narratives of the past, present, and future.”


Jury: Rodrigo Díaz (Producer), Rui Palma (Photographer) and Sandra de Almeida (Programmer)


Best Film: "Uma Rapariga Imaterial", André Godinho (Portugal, 2022, 42’)
Uma Rapariga Imaterial is a short film that, in an unequivocal innovative manner, through the idea of community, invites us to reflect upon a liquid future that is closer every day.”


Special Mention: "Billy Boy", Sacha Amaral (Argentina, 2021, 25’)
“In Billy Boy we discover a deep sensitive gaze that translates the implications of relationships in the solitude of the digital era.”


Audience Award: "Uma Rapariga Imaterial", André Godinho (Portugal, 2022, 42’)


Jury: Rodrigo Díaz (Producer), Rui Palma (Photographer) and Sandra de Almeida (Programmer)


Best Film: "Le Variabili Dipendenti", Lorenzo Tardella (Italy, 2022, 16’)
Le Variabili Dipendenti conquers us through an exceptional language, introducing us, in the pulsion between two teenagers, to the discovery of their deepest desires.” 


Special Mention: "The Greatest Sin", Gabriel B. Arrahnio (Germany, 2021, 25’)
“Using real-life testimonies, The Greatest Sin calls our attention by disclosing present day experiences of identity issues and emigration.” 


This site uses cookies from Google to deliver its services and to analyze traffic. Your IP address and user-agent are shared with Google along with performance and security metrics to ensure quality of service, generate usage statistics, and to detect and address abuse.